Irreantum, AML’s literary/news journal, was founded by Christopher Bigelow in March 1999, succeeding the AML Newsletter, which was published 1977-1998. Christopher Bigelow and Benson Parkinson were the first managing editors. The magazine was subtitled Magazine of the Association for Mormon Letters, and was published quarterly. Parkinson stepped down after Summer 2000, and Bigelow continued as managing editor until 2004. Laraine Wilkins was editor from 2004, renamed the magazine Irreantum: A Review of Mormon Literature and Film, and changed the publication schedule from four issues to three, and then to two, annually. Wilkins died in September 2006 from injuries sustained in an auto accident. Valerie Holladay and Scott Hatch were co-editors from October 2006. In April 2008 Holladay stepped down, and Hatch soon followed her. Angella Hallstorm became the editor by early 2009. In 2010 Jack Harrell joined Hallstorm as editor, and they alternated issues. In 2011 Hallstorm stepped down, and Josh Allen joined Harrell as an editor. The journal ceased publication in 2013. Available back issues are found below. We will post others as time permits. We plan to restart Irreantum as an online literary journal in 2018.

2012 Irreantum Contest Winners

The Association for Mormon Letters and Irreantum magazine are pleased to announce the winners of our 2012 literary contests. This year we received 72 fiction entries, 41 personal essay entries, and 46 poetry collection entries. Entries were judged blind, and our contest committee had a number of strong submissions from which to choose. We are grateful to the Eugene England Foundation for providing funding for our fiction and personal essay contests, and to Mary Ann Taylor for providing funding for our poetry contest. These contests would not be possible without their support, well as the time and thoughtful consideration offered by Irreantum’s editorial staff and literary contest committee. Thank you to all who submitted and congratulations to this year’s winners.

2011 Irreantum Fiction Contest Winners

First Place ($300): “The Revelations of Douglas Chandler,” by Scott M. Roberts of Fredericksburg, Virginia

Second place ($200): “A Strange Report from the Church Archives,” by Steven L. Peck of Provo, Utah

Third place ($100): “Bishop Moon Sings the Stars,” by Warren Hatch of Springville, Utah

Honorable mention ($50): “Timpanogos,” by Heather Marx of Westwood, Massachusetts

With no official connection to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, The Irreantum fiction contest is funded through the Eugene England Foundation.

Irreantum 2012 Charlotte and Eugene England
Personal Essay Contest Winners

First place ($300): “Dominant Hands,” by Justin Kennington of Payson, Utah

Second place ($200): “The Checkers Champion of Orofino, Idaho,” by Jaren Watson of Rexburg, ID

Third place ($100): “The Soul’s Eye is a Red Star,” by Les Blake of Salt Lake City, Utah

Honorable mention ($50): “Chronic,” by Kylie Nielson Turley of Provo, Utah.

With no official connection to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, The Charlotte and Eugene England Personal Essay Contest is funded through the Eugene England Foundation.

2011 Irreantum Poetry Contest Winners

First place ($200): “Four Poems from Nowhere,” by Simon Peter Eggertsen of Champlain, New York

Second place ($150): “Maple Tree,” by Doug Talley of Fairlawn, Ohio

Third place ($100): “Matzevah,” by Robert Brown of Rexburg, Idaho

Honorable mention ($50): “Why I Carry Your ID,” by Melissa Dalton Bradford of Lake Geneva, Switzerland.

With no official connection to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, The Irreantum poetry contest is funded by Mary Ann Taylor.

Congratulations to all the winners!

One Thought on “Irreantum

  1. Greg Winget on February 18, 2017 at 12:32 am said:

    Hello! Glad to find this site.
    Can someone please tell me if there has been any recent (say, less than 50 years)
    writings about the Fall, Garden of Eden, War in Heaven, or related subjects?

    Thanks Much in advance.

    Greg Winget

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *